Teacher Games

Teaching ESL (English as a Second Language) has made really good at board games, specifically Catch Phrase or Pyramid, Charades, Mad Gab, and Pictionary. I added links to videos of some of these games being played for those heathens that have never had a board game night.

As I was saying, I am now a master of these games, thanks to my students. Every class is a mystery. I never know what I will need to use next. And I get way to into it. It’s like I’m playing the game every time, and I want to win. So I’m screaming the answer once I get it. And the students are just looking at me, like teacher okay we get it.

Yesterday, it was Catch Phrase. A student was looking for the word Chimney.

So she asked, “Teacher, what’s that thing that the stuff comes out of?”

And I said, “Chimney,” because I’m a master. Just kidding. I had no idea what she was talking about. I just stared at her.

“Teacher, you know, that stuff that comes out of a house.”

“People! Dogs! Air!”

“It comes out the top.”

“Smoke!”

“Yes, what does smoke come out of?”

“A chimney?”

“Yes, that. How do you spell that?”

Shit. How DO you spell that? Is it one m or two? One or two? I’m going to write two to be safe. Writes Chimmney on the board. Damn, it was one. Oh well, she’ll learn eventually.

 

A few days ago, I used my Mad Gab skills.

“Teacher, who do you spell in fire money?”

“Well, In then Fire then Money?”

“No, like the hospital.”

What the fuck is this kid saying? Fire money hospital?

“Like a hospital?”

“Yes.”

[to myself] “In Fire Money. In Fire Money. Infiremoney. Innfirmary. Infirmary!” [to students] “Infirmary! It’s INFIRMARY!”

I couldn’t do a victory dance in class because that’s looked down upon by the other teachers but in my brain, I was like:

tumblr_lj3t79tokm1qchk28

 

It be small, but it’s the little things in life that cause the most happiness.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Teacher Games

Leave a Reply

