If you’re a Cicada scream Yas!

If you were ever wondering the real sound of summer, it’s the sound of cicadas screaming YAS at the top of their lungs. Like this:

tenor

And if I were an artist, I would draw a real cicada doing this but you get the picture. If you are an artist, feel free to comment a cicada screaming yas so everyone can get the full visual. (I hope one of you 43 people is an artist.)

For those that don’t know what a cicada is, you obviously live in a place that doesn’t have them. Take that as a blessing. I’m not sure what these bugs do other than get together to scream at humans until we go deaf. But I’m sure they have an evolutionary purpose. Like the nipple of a man, there’s a reason, but not a good one.

 

So it’s summer, and you know what summer means…VACATION! But for children in South Korea, it means English grammar intensives. Still fun, but in a different way. And for the foreign teachers of my tiny school, it means we are blessed with Korean Klark Kent and the sweet Paddington Bear as guest teachers, and don’t forget that the Anchovy is still here. So for the past week, I’ve had to deal with my first Korean teacher looking at me. Let me tell you, I did not handle it.

Because it’s summer, and I’m a human, everyday when I get to work I have to immediately wipe the sweat off of me. I have to do this with tissues because Koreans have something against real paper towels.

So, I’m in the kitchen area, wiping the sweat with a tissue, when Korean Klark Kent walks in and just says “Hello.”

Excuse me sir, but that’s not how things work here. You are supposed to ignore me until I vent about it on my blog later.

I didn’t know what to do so I just walked away. I immediately walked out of the room. He hasn’t talked to me since. So at least I restored the natural order of things.

 

Because I flaked with Korean Klark Kent, I figured I could take a shot at the sweet Paddington bear. I thought he would respect the need to eat eight bite-sized candies throughout the workday. So I added him on Facebook.

After a day, I sent him a message. And by “sent him a message,” I don’t mean the type of message with actual words. I mean the kind of message that says something beyond the words.

And the hidden message was “I have nothing to say but talk to me” because I sent a wave.

I meant it like this:

v0ama

But it came out like this:

giphy

 

So I’ve given up on everything now. The Anchovy had his birthday though. He got an ice cream cake, it was so cute. He was so excited. I wanted to eat some to show my support of him getting older, but I’m lactose intolerant.

 

 

Before I go, I want to hear your thoughts on me moving to YouTube so comment!

Leave a Reply

